Home > writing > What’s in a name change?

What’s in a name change?

I suppose nothing substantial changes, but “A Little Mo’ Joe” just seems more fun than “Joe Douglas Trent’s Weblog.”

We threw a little contest to pick a new name. Well, we didn’t actually throw the contest. It’s legit, really!  Anyway, we received a number of imaginative suggestions. It was hard to pick.

The one that made me laugh out loud came from a fellow who told me a person in his office read over his shoulder and said, “Name it Ed.” He asked her why and she said, “Why not?” Indeed, why not? Alas, I needed something a bit more descriptive.

Congrats to DeWanna Pace of Amarillo, Texas in suggesting the winning name. She’ll receive a copy of my picture book documenting a trip through several western states–Destination: Pyramid Lake.

Thanks to DeWanna and to all the folks who participated.

Come back soon for a little mo’ Joe!

Categories: writing Tags: ,
  1. June 2, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I love your new name, it’s perfect! Congrats to De Wanna Place!

  2. nat
    June 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    DeWanna did good, and you are brilliant for choosing her entry. That one made me laugh out loud. Congrats to you both.

    • June 2, 2010 at 4:12 pm

      Thanks Natalie. Of course, now I have to live up to the name!

  3. DeWanna
    June 3, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Thanks, Joe. I’m glad you liked my suggestion for the contest. I’ll look forward to receiving the book and reading a little mo’ Joe.

    DeWanna

    • June 3, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      I hope you like it. The first batch arrived today. I’ll scoot it on over (apologies to Hank Williams).

      Thanks again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

